A quantum board is a flat LED panel that spreads many emitters across a broad substrate, and collimating optics change how that light is thrown rather than how much is produced. The RX-G30090-90 is listed on its official product page (https://koraylights.com/product/osram-qb-led-grow-light/) with a 90-degree beam angle, Osram diodes and a 300 x 90 x 7.5 mm board. Its official datasheet publishes two spectral versions, F23 and F24, each in three drive tiers: F23 at 1.4 A at 29.8 V equals 43 W, 2.4 A at 30.6 V equals 73 W and 3.6 A at 31.3 V equals 113 W; F24 at 1.4 A at 30.8 V equals 44 W, 2.4 A at 31.7 V equals 76 W and 3.6 A at 32.7 V equals 118 W. Photon efficiency is published as 3.2, 3.1 and 2.9 umol/J for the three F23 tiers and is not listed for F24. Photon flux density at 0.3 m is published as 425, 697 and 1,049 umol/m2/s for F23 and 375, 629 and 936 umol/m2/s for F24. The recommended throw is 0.2 to 0.5 m, the lifetime note is 50,000 hours with a maximum Tcp of 70 C, the operating temperature is -30 C to 40 C, and the tolerance is plus or minus 10 percent. Power factor and IP rating are not specified in the official datasheet. The sections below read those figures as optical and thermal calibers rather than as an efficiency contest.

What collimating optics change in a grow light

Collimating optics are elements that bend a wide emission into a more parallel beam, and a 90-degree distribution sits between a bare emitter and a tightly focused optic. A narrower beam puts more photons into a smaller footprint, which raises the intensity measured directly under the board but also makes the fall-off at the edges steeper. Extension guidance on controlled-environment lighting, such as the material published by Michigan State University Extension (https://www.canr.msu.edu/), frames the design question around how evenly a canopy is lit rather than around a single peak reading. Peer-reviewed plant-science literature, including work hosted by Frontiers in Plant Science (https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/plant-science), likewise treats spectral composition and delivered intensity as the variables that shape plant response. For a collimated board, the useful question is therefore how the published readings behave across the recommended throw, and how much thermal headroom a given drive tier leaves.

Why a 90-degree beam and a short throw change the layout

A 90-degree beam with a recommended throw of 0.2 to 0.5 m is a short-throw geometry. In that geometry the board is mounted close to the canopy, and the spacing between boards is chosen so that the cones overlap before the intensity drops at the edges. Short throws are common in multi-tier racks, in propagation areas and in compact cabinets where headroom is limited. The published readings at 0.3 m, given as 425, 697 and 1,049 umol/m2/s for F23, provide three intensity levels at the same height, so the drive tier rather than the mounting height becomes the main tuning knob. Because a collimated beam concentrates light, moving the board further away does not simply scale a reading; it also changes the shape of the lit area, which is why the recommended throw is published as a band rather than as a maximum.

The published calibers of the RX-G30090-90

  • Beam angle is the spread of the distribution, and the RX-G30090-90 is published at 90 degrees with a recommended throw of 0.2 to 0.5 m.
  • Emitter type is the light source, and the official product title names Osram diodes on a quantum-board substrate.
  • Board size is published as 300 x 90 x 7.5 mm, which suits tight rack spacing.
  • Drive tiers are published as 43, 73 and 113 W for F23 and 44, 76 and 118 W for F24, each paired with a stated current and voltage.
  • Photon efficiency is published as 3.2, 3.1 and 2.9 umol/J across the three F23 tiers and is not specified in the official datasheet for F24.
  • Photon flux density is published at 0.3 m as 425, 697 and 1,049 umol/m2/s for F23 and 375, 629 and 936 umol/m2/s for F24.
  • Lifetime is published as 50,000 hours with a maximum Tcp of 70 C, and the tolerance is plus or minus 10 percent.
  • Thermal management is stated in the datasheet, which asks for heat sinks to be added from the 2.4 A tier upward.
  • The datasheet note for F24 records the option to add UV/IR 730 nm far-red to promote the formation of flower and medicinal ingredient.
  • Power factor and IP rating are not specified in the official datasheet.

F23 and F24 side by side

Dimension F23 spectrum (published) F24 spectrum (published)
Board size 300 x 90 x 7.5 mm 300 x 90 x 7.5 mm
Beam angle 90 degrees 90 degrees
Drive tier 1 1.4 A at 29.8 V = 43 W 1.4 A at 30.8 V = 44 W
Drive tier 2 2.4 A at 30.6 V = 73 W 2.4 A at 31.7 V = 76 W
Drive tier 3 3.6 A at 31.3 V = 113 W 3.6 A at 32.7 V = 118 W
Photon efficiency 3.2 / 3.1 / 2.9 umol/J not specified in the official datasheet
PPFD at 0.3 m 425 / 697 / 1,049 umol/m2/s 375 / 629 / 936 umol/m2/s
Illuminance at 0.3 m 24,597 / 39,258 / 59,298 lx 23,933 / 39,991 / 59,348 lx
PAR output 139 / 227 / 332 umol/s 124 / 201 / 292 umol/s
Luminous flux 7,997 / 12,966 / 18,792 lm 8,152 / 13,195 / 19,093 lm
Recommended throw 0.2 to 0.5 m 0.2 to 0.5 m
Heat sink Required from 2.4 A upward Required from 2.4 A upward
Lifetime 50,000 hours (max Tcp 70 C) 50,000 hours (max Tcp 70 C)
Operating temperature -30 C to 40 C -30 C to 40 C
Tolerance plus or minus 10 percent plus or minus 10 percent
Power factor not specified in the official datasheet not specified in the official datasheet
IP rating not specified in the official datasheet not specified in the official datasheet

Where a 90-degree short-throw board fits

A collimated board with a 0.2 to 0.5 m throw fits rack levels, propagation benches and compact cabinets, and it also suits a top tier where the distance to the canopy is measured in tens of centimetres. The three published drive tiers let an operator start at 43 W for young plants and step up to 113 W for a flowering stage without changing the mounting height. Where the datasheet note allows UV/IR 730 nm far-red to be added, that option is aimed at promoting the formation of flower and medicinal ingredient, which is relevant to crops grown for flowering rather than for leaf. A 17-year background in horticultural lighting sits behind this class of board, which is aimed at installations that want an even, controllable short-throw distribution rather than the highest single-number efficiency. Where the canopy is a metre away, a wide-beam toplight bar is usually the better fit; where the canopy is close, a 90-degree board is the more direct answer.

What to confirm in writing before specifying

  • Confirm the required drive tier and its paired heat sink before the fixture is mounted, because the datasheet asks for heat sinks from 2.4 A upward.
  • Confirm the power factor and the IP rating, because neither is specified in the official datasheet.
  • Confirm which spectral version, F23 or F24, is being supplied and whether the UV/IR 730 nm far-red option is included.
  • Confirm the spacing that keeps the 90-degree cones overlapping at the chosen throw.
  • Confirm the control and dimming interface, since the published datasheet covers the optical, electrical and thermal calibers rather than the control protocol.

Frequently asked questions

What beam angle does the RX-G30090-90 use?

The RX-G30090-90 is published with a 90-degree beam angle and a recommended throw of 0.2 to 0.5 m.

What PPFD does the RX-G30090-90 deliver at 0.3 m?

At 0.3 m the published photon flux density is 425, 697 and 1,049 umol/m2/s for the three F23 tiers and 375, 629 and 936 umol/m2/s for the three F24 tiers.

What is the difference between the F23 and F24 versions?

Both share the same 300 x 90 x 7.5 mm board and 90-degree beam. F23 is published with 43, 73 and 113 W tiers and 3.2, 3.1 and 2.9 umol/J, while F24 is published with 44, 76 and 118 W tiers and no photon-efficiency figure.

Does the RX-G30090-90 need a heat sink?

Yes. The datasheet asks for heat sinks to be added from the 2.4 A drive tier upward.

Does the official datasheet list an IP rating or a power factor for the RX-G30090-90?

No. Both the power factor and the IP rating are not specified in the official datasheet and should be confirmed with the supplier.